Saturday, 31 August 2019

Good evening everyone,

Firstly, please accept my sincere apologies for skipping the last 2 Saturday. Life was up and down sometime. But I got through it 🙂

That leads to my blog this weekend. Something a bit deeper. As you may already know, I am Thai. But you may not know thatI am Buddhist too, well not quite a strict one but always have that in the back of my mind to help me get through when life goes down. You don’t have to believe it as a religious thing, please just enjoy reading or event just my new rage of the colourful embroidery art 🙂

‘The Four Stripes Rainbow’


My rainbow has 4 stripes. It represents ‘The Four Noble Truths’ the essence of Buddha’s teachings.


The Four Noble Truths อริยสัจ 4

  1. Suffering exists- ทุกข์
  2. It has a cause- สมุทัย
  3. It has an end- นิโรธ
  4. It has a cause to bring about its end- มรรค

The Four Noble Truths are a contingency plan for dealing with the suffering humanity faces — suffering of a physical kind, or of a mental nature.

  1. The First Truth identifies the presence of suffering
  1. The Second Truth, on the other hand, seeks to determine the cause of suffering
  1. The Third Noble Truth, the truth of the end of suffering, has dual meaning, suggesting either the end of suffering in this life, on earth, or in the spiritual life, through achieving Nirvana. When one has achieved Nirvana, which is a transcendent state free from suffering and our worldly cycle of birth and rebirth, spiritual enlightenment has been reached
  1. The Fourth Noble truth charts the method for attaining the end of suffering, known to Buddhists as the Noble Eightfold Path-มรรคมีองค์ 8

The steps of the Noble Eightfold Path are

  1. Right Understanding
  2. Right Thought
  3. Right Speech
  4. Right Action
  5. Right Livelihood
  6. Right Effort
  7. Right Mindfulness
  8. Right Concentration

Moreover, there are three themes into which the Path is divided:

  • Good moral conduct (Understanding, Thought, Speech)
  • Meditation and mental development (Action, Livelihood, Effort)
  • Wisdom or insight (Mindfulness and Concentration)

The Buddha described the Eightfold Path as a means to enlightenment, like a raft for crossing a river. Once one has reached the opposite shore, one no longer needs the raft and can leave it behind.

Every stitch in this embroidery art remind me of all above. Am I doing OK as a human? Am I happy? What about you? What tool do you use to stay strong in this (sometime) crazy world?